travel

Geneva, Switzerland

From Italy (see my previous two posts about my Italian travels via my travel category), we went onto Switzerland, a country that has been number one on my bucket list for many years! Not least because it is where Audrey Hepburn spent the last thirty years of her life, but also because of the natural beauty of the Swiss landscape. I was so excited to finally visit, and it is safe to say that it did not disappoint. Visiting three different places in Switzerland was amazing, and I loved all three equally! But let’s start with Geneva. Flying over the alps from Italy into Geneva was utterly breathtaking, and from the moment we landed I knew I would love the city. The city breathes sophistication and elegance and is both quaint yet bustling. Every corner you turn houses a luxury fashion store or a chic boutique, a stylish coffee house or a bespoke jewellers. The city is also super multicultural and a variation of languages can be heard when wandering by Lake Geneva. The public transport is always punctual, though you scarcely need to use it as everything is within walking distance, the city being one of the most efficient I’ve visited. We walked around the lake at dusk and it was nothing short of beautiful, from the swans that sail by to the twinkling lights hung above. We visited the cathedral and wandered through the old town, visiting the most beautiful book store: Librarie Ancienne Antiques, housing the most beautiful second hand books. From Antoine de SaintExupéry to Simone de Beauvoir, from Albert Camus to Jean Paul Sartre, the store houses every author you could imagine. I picked up a beautiful copy of Le Petit Prince. It isn’t limited to only Francophone writers either, but writers from all over the world. If you plan on visiting Geneva, you should factor in at least a couple of hours to peruse the shelves and treat yourself to a beautiful edition of your favourite book. As it was close to Christmas, the city also had a Christmas market in the centre, with lovely trinkets and Christmas food available to buy: the ultimate festive treat. We were also lucky enough to be in Geneva during the time at which they celebrate the Fête de l’Escalade, a festival to celebrate the defeat of the Catholic state, Duchy of Savoy’s, attempt to conquer the city in 1602. We watched the parades of horses and reenactments of that historical night in Geneva’s historical old town. It was amazing to learn a little more about the city’s history and heritage and to experience a true, Swiss celebration. Whilst I found it hard to find vegetarian/plant-based food in Geneva, we had a lovely meal at Inglewood Eaux-Vives on the Avenue de Frontenex, the veggie burger was delicious and the staff were amazing. The place gave me Northern Quarter vibes for any of my fellow Mancunians out there, and I couldn’t recommend it enough. I can honestly say that there was no place greater to begin the festive season than Geneva, and now consider Geneva to be one of my favourite cities in the world.

 

grace-2

Leave a comment